Home > USA, Wis. blog > Blogmaster’s musings: I’m going to miss Sen. Russ Feingold (D-WI)…

Blogmaster’s musings: I’m going to miss Sen. Russ Feingold (D-WI)…

November 5, 2010

Foreword

Inteltrends is primarily a global news and opinion site, but I want to remind readers that I also publish a traditional blog. Inteltrends’ Wisconsin Blog can be accessed using the tab located at the top of all my pages, and, while it contains local weather and news from Wisconsin’s Northwoods it also includes my own musings about a variety of topics.

In an effort to increase my ‘blog’ readership beyond northern Wisconsin I am sharing my recent post on my Inteltrends homepage. (You’ll find more posts on my blog.) Comments are disabled but you can always send feedback to my email address: inteltrends@mail.az

Blogmaster’s comments from Wisconsin’s Northwoods
By Steve in Wisconsin
November 5, 2010

I’m going to miss Sen. Russ Feingold (D-WI)… who was defeated in this week’s election by Wisconsin businessman Ron Johnson, a Republican.

Why will I miss Russ?

Well, it certainly isn’t because he’s a tool of the Israeli lobby… um, not that accepting $52,000 from the Pro-Israel PAC this year means anything. (Source: Washington Report on Middle East Affairs, pdf).

But I’m going to miss him because he never lost touch with his constituency. In fact, EACH YEAR he travelled to all 72 Wisconsin counties and met the folks he represented – allowing them an opportunity to voice their concerns directly to him. Sen. Feingold, although based in the nation’s capital, was a real figure to many of us in Wisconsin. He wasn’t some political opportunist hiding in the halls of Washington, D.C. – you know the kind I’m talking about: the one’s who only show their faces around election time when they’re seeking votes or money.

Will newly elected senator Ron Johnson visit us each year? That remains to be seen. As far as I know he has made no such public commitment to do so. I’m not holding my breath.

So, I say to Sen. Russ Feingold: “Thanks for visiting us regularly up here in the Northwoods. Good luck with whatever the future has in store for you. And I mean that sincerely.”

[End.]
__________

Steve in Wisconsin is a former deputy sheriff with travels in Africa, Asia and Central America. His primary blog is inteltrends.wordpress.com

Share:          Delicious     Add this page to Mister Wong

Categories: USA, Wis. blog